Skip to main content
Visit our new site we're developing and let us know what you think
Press roomIn this

Three non-executive directors appointed to The Pensions Regulator

Ref: PN16-56
Thursday 15 December 2016

The Pensions Regulator (TPR) today announces the appointment of three non-executive directors to its Board by the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions.

Kirstin Baker will join the Board on 1 February 2017, followed by Robert Herga on 1 July 2017. David Martin is being re-appointed on 1 February, following an open competition. The appointments are for four years and four months.

They fill vacancies created by the departures of Graham Mayes and Ann Berresford whose terms of office come to an end in 2017.

Chair of The Pensions Regulator, Mark Boyle, said:

"We look forward to working with Kirstin Baker and Robert Herga and welcome the re-appointment of David Martin. They will bring a range of complementary skills both to the board and to the wider organisation at a time when the pensions landscape is under increasing scrutiny, and is going through a period of significant change.

"They will work with colleagues on TPR's Board and Executive to ensure we successfully deliver on our statutory objectives and play our part on broader issues as a well-informed and pragmatic thought leader.

"I would also like to thank Graham Mayes and Ann Berresford for their four years of valuable service."

Editor's notes

  1. Kirstin Baker has over twenty years experience in economic and finance roles in the civil service and was most recently Finance Director at HM Treasury. She previously worked as a senior policy official in the Treasury, heading the team responsible for coordinating public spending and managing many of the Treasury’s interventions in individual banks in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis. Kirstin's earlier career was in EU policy and she worked as a competition official in the European Commission. She has also worked for the Scottish Government, leading policy on infrastructure investment. Kirstin is a non-executive director on the boards of UK Financial Investments and Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust, and is Vice-Chair (Finance) of the Council of the University of Sussex. She was awarded a CBE in 2011 for her work during the financial crisis.
  2. Robert Herga is a solicitor with more than 30 years experience of working in major corporations. Robert is currently General Counsel and Company Secretary at Gatwick Airport Limited, having previously held that position at BAA plc and Carpetright plc. Prior to that he had undertaken legal roles within British Steel and BT. Robert is the Chairman of Trustees for the Defined Benefit Pension Schemes of both Gatwick Airport Limited and Edinburgh Airport Limited.
  3. David Martin has over 40 years experience in the pensions industry, including 30 years of giving direct advice to trustees of occupational pension schemes. He is an actuary and was a partner at Mercer Ltd and its predecessor companies (1980 to 2012). David is involved at a senior level with the Actuarial Profession. He is Chair of the Professionalism Committee of the International Actuarial Association, and an officer of Actuarial Association of Europe.
  4. The current remuneration is £17,992 for 26 days per year. These appointments have been made in accordance with the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA) Code of Practice.
  5. The Pensions Regulator is the regulator of work-based pension schemes in the UK. Our statutory objectives are: to protect members’ benefits; to reduce the risk of calls on the Pension Protection Fund (PPF); to promote, and to improve understanding of, the good administration of work-based pension schemes; to maximise employer compliance with automatic enrolment duties; and to minimise any adverse impact on the sustainable growth of an employer (in relation to the exercise of the regulator's functions under Part 3 of the Pensions Act 2004 only).

Press contacts

Tim Marks 01273 662092